Recent CICM News
Communications Course
25th August 2014
Perth, October 17th 2014.  Numbers are limited! Register today!
>> Read More
Memorial for Ramesh Nagappan
14th July 2014
Memorial for Ramesh Nagappan WHERE: Karralyka Centre - Mines Road, RINGWOOD EAST 3135 WHEN: Wednesday 16th July, 2014 TIME: 3pm – 5pm To assist with arrangements on the day, could you pleas...
>> Read More
Education Conference - Registrations now open
2nd July 2014
CICM Education Conference4-5th September 2014RACV Royal Pines Resort, Gold Coast Register here Program...
>> Read More
Search CICM
Suite 101 168 Greville Street
Phone: (03) 9514 2888
Fax: (03) 9533 2657


About Us - History

The College of Intensive Care Medicine was established in 2008 and formally took over the responsibility for training and certification of intensive care specialists, from the Joint Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine on 1st January 2010.

Prior to 2001, two training programs in intensive care medicine were available in Australia and New Zealand. The Faculty of Anaesthetists (RACS) commenced a training and examination system in intensive care in 1976. The training program consisted of four years and two examinations. In 1992, the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists was formed and the Council established a Faculty of Intensive Care in 1993, responsible for the conduct of all intensive care education. The Royal Australasian College of Physicians established a training program in intensive care at approximately the same time as the Faculty of Anaesthetists RACS.

In 1996, a Joint Specialist Advisory Committee (Intensive Care) between the Faculty of Intensive Care and the Royal Australasian College of Physicians was created, under the Chairmanship of the Dean, Dr Geoff Clarke, Its aim was to develop a single training program for the specialty, and to supervise all intensive care trainees on behalf of the two bodies. This aim was realised in 2001, with the establishment of the Joint Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine. An elected Board took office in February 2002, with Dr Felicity Hawker in the office of Inaugural Dean. The Joint Faculty was also housed at Ulimaroa, 630 St Kilda Road as part of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.

Whilst the evolution of an independent training body has taken some thirty years, the training program has been producing intensive care specialists of the highest quality since 1979.